In which Richard is rushed to the hospital after collapsing at Yale, and Logan and Luke are there to offer their help and support but Christopher is nowhere to be found.

Here’s What Happened:
While helping Babette move a plant into her house for her “jungle themed bedroom”, Lorelai gets a call from Rory that Richard collapsed at Yale and is in the hospital. Lorelai drops everything – literally – and rushes off.

When Lorelai gets to the hospital, Rory asks about Christopher, and Lorelai says he’s probably en route. In truth, she has no idea where he is because he isn’t picking her up her calls and hasn’t responded to her voicemails. 

gg713-00102

While Lorelai and Rory are in the waiting room with Emily, who should arrive but one Logan Huntzberger. It kind of emphasizes the fact that Chris is a no show. 


Richard is going to need open heart surgery. The girls gather by Richard’s bedside, with Emily fussing over the pillows and Lorelai and Rory trying to keep the mood relatively light.

gg713-00300

Over at Luke’s diner, Babette tells Luke that Lorelai’s dad had a heart attack and is in the hospital. Because he’s Luke, he drops everything and rushes right over to the hospital. He gets there right around the time Logan is reassuring Rory that no matter what else is going on in his life, she doesn’t need to worry about it, because she’s the priority right now. Luke offers to do whatever he can to help, and Emily immediately sends him off on errands.

Christopher is failing SO HARD right now.

gg713-00542

Emily forgot to give Luke a check for the fish man, so Rory and Logan go over to the house – check in tow – to get some of Richard’s things to make his hospital room more comfortable. While they’re there, Logan casually mentions he’s planning to take $3mil from his trust fund to put towards the purchase of an internet company – even though Mitchum already rejected the proposal. Hmm.

gg713-00824

Lorelai is getting fed up with Emily’s focus on seemingly trivial matters while Richard’s life hangs in the balance. She finally calls her out on it while they’re in a gift shop, resulting in a heartbreaking speech from Emily:

LORELAI: So your plan was to chat up Persephone’s to make sure you don’t lose your special table and to order tons of swordfish and salmon to keep your skin glowing and to happily discuss with Quentin whether or not dad should be resuscitated?
EMILY: These are things that need to be dealt with.
LORELAI: No what has to be dealt with is that dad could be dying. What you’re dealing with is phone calls and a checklist. You’re not his secretary. You’re his wife.
EMILY: Yes and what do you know about being a wife? You’ve been married for what — 40 days? That’s nothing. Your father and I have been married for over 40 years. For 2/3 of my life, I have been the wife of Richard Gilmore. I run his household. I plan his meals. I buy his clothes, entertain his business associates. When he loses his reading glasses, I find them. When he wants a nightcap. I make it for him. If he can’t remember the name of a colleague’s wife, I whisper it in his ear. That’s what I do — I take care of him. That’s my job. That’s who I am. If I could be performing his surgery right now, I would be, but I can’t — it’s out of my hands. [Voice breaking] It’s out of my hands, and there’s nothing I can do but wait. I could lose him, Lorelai. He’s my whole life, and there’s nothing I can do!

gg713-00928

Richard comes through surgery successfully, and while Emily is allowed to go in and see him, Lorelai goes out into the parking lot to place one, last phone call to Chris.

LORELAI: Hi, it’s me — again. Um, dad’s out of surgery, and it went well, and he’s doing fine, so… it’s good news. I just — I wanted you to know… because… I don’t know why. ‘Cause you haven’t returned any of my calls. But I just thought I would, uh, tell you what’s going on because… I’m your wife and…I think that’s what I’m supposed to do. No idea how to be your wife, but I’m trying. You’re my husband, you know, and… it seems like you should be here or call me back. I mean, I’m pretty sure that’s what married people do, is be there for each other. But I know you’re upset, and I know we had a fight, but this is just bigger than that, you know? It’s my dad, and he’s had a heart attack. And everybody’s been here. I mean, I’ve talked to Sookie and even Michel and Patty and Babette, and they’ve all been here for me, but… [Exhales sharply] My husband’s…not here. That’s not okay, Chris, you know? It’s not okay.

gg713-00986

Guess that was finally the call that shamed him into coming, because a short time later – just in time to watch Luke drop off several bags of food (including one with fish, since he heard Emily talking about fish) to feed everyone – Christopher arrives at the hospital.


Even with everything going on, he makes it clear he is NOT happy to see Luke at the hospital.

LORELAI: Why didn’t you call me? I didn’t think you were coming.
CHRISTOPHER: Clearly.
LORELAI: No, he just brought food. I didn’t call him.
CHRISTOPHER: I don’t want to talk about this here…
LORELAI: What…
CHRISTOPHER: Not now.

Seriously, dude?

Rory comes up and invites Chris back to see Richard, and the two of them go leaving Emily and Lorelai alone in the hospital hallway.

EMILY: It’ll be all right. Every cloud has a silver lining.
LORELAI: Thanks, mom.
EMILY: Well, blood is thicker than water.
LORELAI: Hmm.

gg713-01156

Season 7 is so GOOD because:
I liked the realness between Emily and Lorelai in this episode, and the fact Luke (and Logan) showed up. 

Season 7 is so BAD because:
Christopher is so very immature. 😦

What a catchy tune:
When You And I Were Young Maggie Blues – Bing Crosby

That Gilmore Girls show sure is a pop culture playground:
BABETTE: He’s like Warren Beatty, your dad — or Sean Connery or — who’s that one I always found so sexy? The evil politician with the glasses — Henry Kissinger!

LOGAN: Believe me, I know. I’m Hardy to his Laurel.

LOGAN: Like “The Apprentice.”
RORY: Yeah and he’s gonna be like Donald Trump, which is ridiculous.

LORELAI: Yeah, it’s okay here. We can import cream cheese and cheesesteaks and any other kind of cheese. You look good, dad. This outfit’s not really up to your usual J. Press standards, unless it’s got some brass buttons I can’t see, but…you look good. You look tall.

The witticisms of Lorelai Gilmore, ladies and gentlemen:
LORELAI: Well somebody’s very chipper on the phone. Somebody should consider a career as a weather girl.

Snark 101 with Michel Gerard:
MICHEL: Tell Lorelai the Zimmerman’s in room 4 are not a married couple, as we had thought, but a brother and a sister.
SOOKIE: No I’m not telling Lorelai that. She’s in a hospital.
MICHEL: Tell her they requested a rollaway bed, and we do not have any rollaway beds left.
SOOKIE: I am not talking to Lorelai about rollaway beds.
MICHEL: Tell her the Zimmerman’s are demanding, very big, and they need a bed!

Emily Gilmore, the Queen of Snark:
EMILY: My husband has a heart attack, and how long does it take them to find me? 40 minutes. The nitwit probably got lost between the front desk and the tennis courts.
RORY: I’m sorry grandma that sounds terrible.
EMILY: I mean none of this would have been a problem if I’d been allowed to keep my cell phone. But no cell phones have been banned allegedly because of noise pollution. Well if that’s the reason, they should ban John Abbott. Because I’m telling you every time that man hits a ball, he grunts like a rutting hog. [The girls look amused] I mean he’s twice as loud as my cell phone. And they won’t even let you leave your cell phone on vibrate, it preposterous. I mean what do they think we’re doing, making drug deals?

Other random thoughts:
I used to like Christopher, I really did. But he’s just so immature in Season 7.
It makes me sad to think about, but I do wonder what Emily has done with her life now that she’s no longer, first and foremost, “Richard’s wife”. 

 


Katie wrote this ツ

Leave a comment